Last updated: 22 December 2023

Next review: 16 November 2024

The three main types of tenancy

Introductory tenancy

We usually offer new tenants an introductory tenancy. This is a trial tenancy, which usually lasts for a year, but can last up to 18 months. Your housing officer will check up on you to make sure you’re keeping to your tenancy agreement.

If you do, once the trial ends, you could be offered a secure tenancy.

However, if you break the agreement e.g. not paying rent, illegally subletting, we can serve legal notice to end your tenancy. 

Secure tenancy

If you’re a secure tenant you have the right to stay in your home for as long as you choose. This applies provided you keep to the conditions of your tenancy agreement.

Demoted tenancy

This is a tenancy issued to you by order of a court. It’s probationary and normally lasts one year, but can be increased to 18 months.

It is often given because of antisocial or nuisance behaviour.

If you keep to the demoted tenancy agreement, you'll normally become a secure tenant again in 12 months. However, if you break the agreement, you could lose your tenancy.