Last updated: 14 November 2023

Next review: 14 November 2024

Advanced level qualifications (known as A levels) are subject based qualifications.  You can normally study three or more A levels over two years.

Duration: 2 years

Start date: September

Assessment: Mostly exams at the end of the course

Where will I study: School sixth form, sixth form college, further education college

Level of study: 3

Entry requirements: Set by each school and college, usually a minimum of 5 GCSEs grades 9 to 4.  At least grade 6 in the specific subject(s) you want to study.

Work experience: Usually 1 week during year 12

Awards UCAS points? Yes

What does it leads to: University/college, higher level or degree apprenticeship, work

Find out more: When choosing your A Levels; what you need to consider visit: the Career Pilot website.  

Use the Informed Choices website to help you understand which subjects open up which degrees, particularly at Russell Group universities.

How to apply: Go to individual school and college websites.  Search for courses on the National Careers Service website.