Get nominating for the Love Your Borough Awards 2018

14 October 2017

We’re on the lookout for unsung heroes and heroines of our Waltham Forest community – and we want you to nominate them.

The annual awards recognise the people and organisations that help put the spirit back into the community and promote pride in the borough.

We want you to tell us who you think is so inspiring that they deserve to be celebrated with a Love Your Borough Award.

The winners will receive their awards at a gala dinner awards evening held in Walthamstow Assembly Hall on Friday 2 March, 2018.

Nominations have now closed.

You can nominate:

  • individuals
  • businesses, clubs and organisations
  • local initiatives

You might want to nominate a local residents’ association that has spruced up our streets, or a sports coach who gives over their free time to get children involved in sports. Maybe you know a young person who helps others, or someone who helps make our borough safer … as long as they live, work or represent an organisation in Waltham Forest, it’s up to you.

There’s so much talent in our borough, let’s celebrate it.

See the photos from last year's awards on our Flickr page.

To find out more about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Paul Andrews, Head of Commercial Operations at

Environmental Champion Award

This award recognises individuals and groups who go out of their way to make Waltham Forest a cleaner, safer and greener place to live.

Best Venue for Culture and Night-time Economy

This award celebrates local businesses that make a unique contribution to the night-time activity in Waltham Forest. It could be a local pub, bar, restaurant or other venue that offers cultural activities and increases night-time economy in the area.

Young Citizen of the Year

This award champions young people between the ages of 16-18, who have demonstrated an improvement in their classes. This could be an improvement in their studies, in sport, in their overall grades or in their attendance. It could be an inspirational student, or one who has shown a creative flare.

Arts and Culture Award

This award recognises the initiative that has done the most to inspire others in cultural activities, such as music, dance, drama or the visual arts. The initiative could encourage people or children from disadvantaged groups. It could show collaboration between public services, the cultural sector, and even children and young people or any other community groups to increase opportunities to participate in arts activities.

Safeguarding Award

This award person, group or initiative that has made the biggest contribution to prevent and protect children and young people from abuse and neglect. Judges will be looking for examples of exceptional teamwork and multi-agency working. This could include nurses, doctors, police, or a specific initiative that has done something outstanding to protect young children.

Nurse of the Year

This award acknowledges the important role that specialist nurses working in the care sector have in promoting the emotional, physical, psychological and social health of the people who they support. The individual should be able to demonstrate how nursing skills integrate with social care (such as a nurse working on a cancer ward or with the elderly). This award is given to the nurse who goes above and beyond: the nurse who puts patient care at the heart of their role.

Best Business

This award recognises businesses in Waltham Forest that have made a demonstrable impact in their market sector. The winning business must be able to show how it stands out from the competition and its growth potential. Businesses nominated must have been trading for at least 6 months. 

Teacher of the Year

This award recognises and celebrates the outstanding work of exceptional teachers across Waltham Forest. We’re looking for a teacher who’s made an outstanding contribution to representing the needs and interests of their students, and who’s worked towards creating positive change for their students.

Uniformed Service Hero Award

This award honours people working in the emergency services or the armed forces, who have gone ‘above and beyond’ their paid duties or voluntary work. The award winner will be someone who has provided exceptional service and demonstrated outstanding dedication to their work. They will be someone who embodies civic pride and has gone that ‘extra mile’ to make a difference to their community, neighbourhood and Waltham Forest as a whole. This could be a member of the armed forces, a local police officer, PCSO, fire-fighter, nurse or a member of the ambulance service. It could also be any member of the armed forces that lives in Waltham Forest and has been in active duty over the last 5 years, or is currently serving.

Pride of Sports Award

This award recognises people or groups that have either achieved sporting success or encouraged others to get involved in sporting activities. It could be someone who has represented their borough in a sport, or who dedicates their own time to coaching or organising sports events for others. It may be someone or a group that promotes and develops sporting initiatives in the community. Or someone who volunteers, or work with, young people to get them involved in sport or in raising the profile of sport in Waltham Forest.

Best Community or Business Cycling Initiative

This award celebrates initiatives that encourage people to cycle in Waltham Forest. 
The initiative can be organised through a community group, such as a club, or through a local business. Maybe you have a favourite cycle club that promotes cycling for families, or the place where you work encourages you to cycle in each morning by providing great cycle storage facilities or an area to get changed. Maybe your work has a delivery service which uses bikes to deliver around the borough. 
You can even nominate your own project. All that matters is that the project should have been in place for at least six months, prior to nomination submission.





Judging and notifications Click to get info

Judging will take place on the 10 January 2018, by a panel of judges.

Successful nominees will be notified by email by 15 January 2018, and invitations to the gala awards evening will be sent directly to them.

All short listed applicants will be listed online after 15 January 2018.